Kaduna LG Polls:  APC Leads With 13 Councils

…As KAD-SIECOM Declares 2 Councils Inconclusive, 3 Rescheduled

By: Mayen Etim

KADUNA, North- West, Nigeria – The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kaduna State and the main opposition party, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) shared the spoils in last Saturday’s local government polls in the State.

Chairman of the Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission, (KADSIECOM), Dr. Saratu Dikko disclosed this during a press conference held in Kaduna on Thursday, May 17, 2018.

According to the official announcement of the results by Chairman of the Commission, APC swept 13 Local Government Councils, while PDP won 4 out of the seventeen council results released.

The KAD-SIECOM boss explained that the results had already been announced at the wards for councillorship and LGA collation centres for the chairmanship.

According to her, the result is as follows: Chairman of Birnin Gwari LGA was won by Alhaji Garba Gambo (APC); Chairman Giwa LGA, Abubakar Shehu Giwa (APC), and

Chairman Igabi LGA, Jabir Khamis (APC).

Chairman Ikara LGA, Salisu Ibrahim (APC); Jema’a LGA Peter Averick (PDP); Kachia LGA won by Peter Agite (PDP), while Chairman Kaduna North LGA won by Saleh Shuaibu (APC).

Chairman Kagarko LGA won by Nasara Rago (APC); Kauru LGA Chairman Shuaibu Goma (PDP); Kubau LGA, Alhaji Sambo Aminu (APC), and Kudan LGA Chairman Shu’aibu Jaja (APC).

Lere LGA Chairman Abubakar Buba (APC); Makarfi LGA Kabiru Mayere (APC); Sabon Gari LGA Chairman Engr. Mohammed Usman (APC).

Sanga LGA Chairman Charles Danladi (APC); Soba LGA Chairman Mohammed Mahmood (APC); Zango Kataf LGA, Dr. Elias Manza (PDP), and Zaria LGA Chairman Engineer Aliyu Idris Ibrahim (APC).

The result for the Chairmanship of Chikun LGA elections could not be announced as elections were said to be inconclusive.
However, two wards in Kaduna South LGA results were not available, but will be announced after the rescheduled polls. Also, election results in Sabon Gari North and South wards would be announced when the rescheduled polls are conducted.
Meanwhile, elections were rescheduled in four wards; Kujama, Chikun and Kakau. While that of the three local government areas not announced; Kajuru, Jaba and Kaura where rescheduled for June 2, 2018.
Winners of the last Saturday exercise would be issued Certificate of Return on Saturday, May 19, 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here