Atiku Clinches PDP Presidential Ticket

By: Our Correspondent

PORT HARCOURT, South-South, Nigeria – Nigeria’s former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar has emerged the flag bearer of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) for the 2019 general elections.
Abubakar polled 1,523 votes to emerged the flag bearer of his party after the National Convention which ended in Port Harcourt on Sunday October 7, 2018.
The Sokoto State Governor and former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal gave a good fight, but polled 693 votes to finish second.
The third position went to Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, with 317 votes, while former Kano State Governor, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso finished fourth with 158 votes.
Gombe State Governor, Ibrahim Dankwambo came 5th with 111 votes; while former Jigawa State governor, Sule Lamido came 6th with 96 votes; and former Kaduna state Governor, Senator Ahmed Makarfi picked the 7th position with 74 votes.
Others include; former Minister of Special Duties, Tanimu Turaki, 8th with 65 votes; former Sokoto State Governor, Alhaji Atahiru Bafarawa, polled 48 votes to clinched the 9th position.
Former Senate President, Distinguished Senator David mark, came 10th with 35 votes, while former Plateau State Governor, Senator Jonah Hang came 11th with 19 votes, and the last position went to Senator Dati Ahmed with 5 votes.
The convention which started on Saturday, October 6, 2018, featured 3,274 delegates from the 36 states of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory, (FCT).
Atiku Abubakar will square up with the incumbent, President Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress, (APC) and others for presidential race at the 2019 general elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here